Kane wins Hart Trophy(MVP), Panarin Calder Trophy(Rookie of Year)

Blackhawks’ Kane Wins Hart Trophy as NHL MVP

Right wing Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks has won the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Kane received 121 first-place votes and appeared on each of the 150 ballots cast for 1,395 points. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, named on 145 ballots including 11 first-place tallies, finished second in voting with 800 points, followed by Dallas Stars left wing Jamie Benn (637). Kane posted career highs in goals (46), assists (60) and points (106) to capture the Art Ross Trophy and power the Blackhawks to their eighth straight playoff appearance. The Buffalo, N.Y., native notched at least one point in 64 of his 82 contests (78.0%), highlighted by a 26-game streak Oct. 17 – Dec. 13 (16-24—40) – a franchise record, the longest by a U.S.-born player in NHL history and the longest by any player since 1992-93 (Mats Sundin: 30). Kane, who became the first U.S.-born player in League history to win the scoring title, is Chicago’s first Hart Trophy winner since 1967-68 (Stan Mikita).

2015-2016 Hart Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th) 1. Patrick Kane, CHI 1395 (121-22-5-2-0) 2. Sidney Crosby, PIT 800 (11-64-31-24-15) 3. Jamie Benn, DAL 637 (8-34-40-34-17) 4. Braden Holtby, WSH 292 (5-13-19-13-17) 5. Joe Thornton, SJS 267 (0-8-19-31-23) 6. Alex Ovechkin, WSH 212 (2-6-18-13-21) 7. Jaromir Jagr, FLA 60 (1-1-5-4-6) 8. Anze Kopitar, LAK 53 (1-0-2-8-9) 9. Erik Karlsson, OTT 44 (0-1-4-2-11) 10. Ben Bishop, TBL 42 (1-1-1-4-8) 11. Drew Doughty, LAK 29 (0-0-2-5-4) 12. Vladimir Tarasenko, STL 13 (0-0-1-1-5) 13. John Tavares, NYI 10 (0-0-0-2-4) 14. Joe Pavelski, SJS 8 (0-0-0-2-2) 15. Roberto Luongo, FLA 8 (0-0-0-1-5) 16. Claude Giroux, PHI 6 (0-0-1-0-1) 17. Henrik Lundqvist, NYR 5 (0-0-1-0-0) Cory Schneider, NJD 5 (0-0-1-0-0) 19. Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH 4 (0-0-0-1-1) 20. Brent Burns, SJS 3 (0-0-0-1-0) Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 3 (0-0-0-1-0) Ryan Kesler, ANA 3 (0-0-0-1-0) 23. Kris Letang, PIT 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Hart Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up 2016 Patrick Kane, Chi. Sidney Crosby, Pit. 2015 Carey Price, Mtl. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. 2014 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Ryan Getzlaf, Ana. 2013 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Sidney Crosby, Pit. 2012 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Steven Stamkos, T.B. 2011 Corey Perry, Ana. Daniel Sedin, Van. 2010 Henrik Sedin, Van. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. 2009 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit. 2008 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit. 2007 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Roberto Luongo, Van. 2006 Joe Thornton, S.J. Jaromir Jagr, NYR 2004 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Jarome Iginla, Cgy. 2003 Peter Forsberg, Col. Markus Naslund, Van. 2002 Jose Theodore, Mtl. Jarome Iginla, Cgy. 2001 Joe Sakic, Col. Mario Lemieux, Pit. 2000 Chris Pronger, St.L Jaromir Jagr, Pit. 1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Alexei Yashin, Ott. 1998 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Jaromir Jagr, Pit. 1997 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Paul Kariya, Ana. 1996 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Mark Messier, NYR 1995 Eric Lindros, Phi. Jaromir Jagr, Pit. 1994 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Dominik Hasek, Buf. 1993 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Doug Gilmour, Tor. 1992 Mark Messier, NYR Patrick Roy, Mtl. 1991 Brett Hull, St.L Wayne Gretzky, L.A.

Blackhawks’ Panarin Wins Calder Trophy

Blackhawks left wing Artemi Panarin has won the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Panarin received votes on all 150 ballots and was the top choice on 88 for 1,258 voting points, ahead of Shayne Gostisbehere of the Philadelphia Flyers (955) and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (858). Panarin, who signed with the Blackhawks in May 2015, led all rookies in goals (30), assists (47), points (77), power-play goals (t-8), power-play points (24) and game-winning goals (7) while skating in 80 contests. He became the fourth rookie in franchise history to reach the 30-goal milestone and the first to do so since 1995-96 (Eric Daze). That included his first career hat trick Feb. 17 at NYR, the first by any Blackhawks rookie since 2002-03 (Tyler Arnason). Panarin is the first Blackhawks player to win the Calder Trophy since linemate Patrick Kane in 2008.

2015-2016 Calder Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th) 1. Artemi Panarin, CHI 1258 (88-41-16-3-2) 2. Shayne Gostisbehere, PHI 955 (33-53-42-12-8) 3. Connor McDavid, EDM 858 (25-45-48-15-8) 4. Jack Eichel, BUF 449 (2-9-25-72-25) 5. Dylan Larkin, DET 170 (1-0-8-23-51) 6. Max Domi, ARI 92 (0-2-2-12-32) 7. John Gibson, ANA 62 (0-0-5-9-10) 8. Colton Parayko, STL 52 (1-0-4-4-10) 9. Sam Reinhart, BUF 2 (0-0-0-0-2) 10. Anthony Duclair, ARI 1 (0-0-0-0-1) Jaccob Slavin, CAR 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Calder Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up 2016 Artemi Panarin, Chi. S. Gostisbehere, Phi. 2015 Aaron Ekblad, Fla. Mark Stone, Ott. 2014 Nathan MacKinnon, Col. Ondrej Palat, T.B. 2013 Jonathan Huberdeau, Fla. B. Gallagher, Mtl. 2012 Gabriel Landeskog, Col. R. Nugent-Hopkins, Edm. 2011 Jeff Skinner, Car. Logan Couture, S.J. 2010 Tyler Myers, Buf. Jimmy Howard, Det. 2009 Steve Mason, CBJ Bobby Ryan, Ana 2008 Patrick Kane, Chi. N. Backstrom, Wsh 2007 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Paul Stastny, Col. 2006 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Sidney Crosby, Pit. 2004 Andrew Raycroft, Bos. Michael Ryder, Mtl. 2003 Barret Jackman, St.L Henrik Zetterberg, Det. 2002 Dany Heatley, Atl. Ilya Kovalchuk, Atl. 2001 Evgeni Nabokov, S.J. Brad Richards, T.B. 2000 Scott Gomez, N.J. Brad Stuart, S.J. 1999 Chris Drury, Col. Marian Hossa, Ott. 1998 Sergei Samsonov, Bos. Mattias Ohlund, Van. 1997 Bryan Berard, NYI Jarome Iginla, Cgy. 1996 Daniel Alfredsson, Ott. Eric Daze, Chi. 1995 Peter Forsberg, Que. Jim Carey, Wsh. 1994 Martin Brodeur, N.J. Jason Arnott, Edm. 1993 Teemu Selanne, Wpg. Joe Juneau, Bos. 1992 Pavel Bure, Van. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. 1991 Ed Belfour, Chi. Sergei Fedorov, Det. 1990 Sergei Makarov, Cgy. Mike Modano, Min.

Leave a Reply